Best Gluten Free Pre Workout for Expecting Moms

A ranked look at seven pre-workout powders through a pregnancy lens, comparing caffeine per serving, serving counts and label transparency. NutraBump leads at 100mg; the 300mg options are here so you know exactly what to avoid.

Share

The best gluten free pre workout supplement for pregnant women in this group is the PINK NUTRABUMP NutraBump Pregnancy & Nursing Pre-Workout, because it's the only one of the seven built for this stage and the only one disclosing a caffeine figure as low as 100mg per serving. If you're past nursing and want a shorter ingredient panel, Alani Nu Pre Workout Powder Cosmic Stardust is the alternate at 200mg per serving in a 10.2 oz tub. Price tiers here map cleanly: the entry tubs are the biggest and the most stimulant-heavy, the middle buys clean sweeteners, and the top tier buys either pregnancy formulation or triple the caffeine.

Best gluten free pre workout supplement for pregnant women at a glance

Pick Caffeine per serving Tub size / servings Price
Best overall
PINK NUTRABUMP NutraBump Pregnancy & Nursing Pre-Workout
100mg claim 11.51 oz Check Price
Best minimal setup
Alani Nu Pre Workout Powder Cosmic Stardust
200mg claim 10.2 oz / 30 servings Check Price
Best budget pick
RAW Essential Tingle-Free Pre Workout Powder
200mg claim 11.22 oz / 30 servings Check Price
Best for pros
EBOOST POW Natural Pre Workout Powder
Not stated 20 servings Check Price
Best premium
Alani Nu Pre Workout+ Powder Frozen Lemonade
300mg claim 13.8 oz / 30 servings Check Price
Runner-up
BSN N.O.-XPLODE Pre Workout Powder with Creatine
Not stated 1.2 lb / 30 servings Check Price
Best large-capacity
Insane Labz Boss A** B!#?h Preworkout
Multiple sources, unquantified 30 servings Check Price

How I screened this shortlist

I started from the pre-workout powder listings and compared the published specifications side by side. Seven survived. The screen was blunt on purpose, because a pregnancy question deserves a narrow filter.

Three things had to be on the listing:

  • A gluten-free statement from the brand, or a formulation described as clean and fully disclosed.
  • A caffeine figure, or at minimum a named caffeine source, so the dose question can be asked at all.
  • A serving count or a net weight, so a tub can be compared against another tub.

That last one sounds trivial. It isn't. Two of the seven publish a serving count with no net weight, and one publishes a net weight with no serving count, which makes any per-serving comparison partly guesswork.

What got cut: proprietary blends with no amounts, anything with no gluten statement, and single-flavour listings with no size data at all.

One thing I want stated plainly before you read further. Only one product here is described by its maker as formulated for pregnancy and nursing. The other six are ordinary pre-workouts that happen to be gluten free. Amazon's search returns them for this query, but a gluten-free label says nothing about pregnancy. That gap is the whole reason this article needed a screen instead of a list.

Why caffeine per serving is the number that decides it

Most pre-workout guides compare pump ingredients: citrulline grams, beta-alanine, nitric oxide precursors. For a shopper searching the best gluten free pre workout supplement for pregnant women, that comparison is beside the point. Caffeine per serving is the number that decides it, and it's the number that splits this field hardest.

Look at the spread among the four picks that quantify it:

  1. NutraBump: 100mg per serving.
  2. Alani Nu Cosmic Stardust: 200mg per serving.
  3. RAW Essential Tingle-Free: 200mg of natural caffeine.
  4. Alani Nu Pre Workout+: 300mg, sourced from coffee beans.

That's a threefold gap between the lowest and the highest in the same product category, from the same shelf. Three hundred milligrams versus one hundred is not a preference. It's a different decision.

The other three picks don't publish a figure at all. Insane Labz lists "multiple caffeine sources and Rauwolfia extract" without a number. EBOOST and BSN name performance and energy without quantifying the stimulant. An unquantified stimulant is the one thing you can't take to a doctor and get a straight answer about.

So the practical rule: if a tub won't tell you the caffeine dose, it can't be assessed against a caffeine limit. That single test reorders this whole list.

1. PINK NUTRABUMP NutraBump Pregnancy & Nursing Pre-Workout — Best overall

The only pick here built for this stage of life, with the lowest disclosed caffeine dose and no proprietary blends.

NutraBump strawberry kiwi pregnancy and nursing pre-workout tub — the only pick in the set formulated for this stage

Best for: someone who wants the lowest disclosed caffeine dose and a fully open label Skip it if: you need a big scoop of stimulants to get through a session

What sets this apart within the set is the formulation intent. Pink Nutrabump describes it as made for active moms-to-be and breastfeeding women, and states 100mg of caffeine per serving, which the brand describes as within commonly recommended OB/GYN guidance. That's half the dose of the two 200mg picks and a third of the Alani Nu Pre Workout+ figure. Take the caffeine claim as the manufacturer's, and take the guidance line the same way. Your doctor's number is the one that counts.

The label approach matters as much as the dose. The listing says every ingredient is named and every amount disclosed, with no proprietary blends, and names fermented L-glutamine, beta-alanine, beet juice powder and coconut water powder. Sweetening is stevia and erythritol only, with no sucralose, dyes or artificial flavours claimed. Among these seven, that combination of a low stated dose and a fully open panel is unique.

The tub is 11.51 oz at 0.72 lb, mid-sized here. The trade-off is real: it's the second-priciest of the seven with no published serving count, so you can't work out cost per scoop the way you can with the 30-serving tubs. Only two sellers list it.

Pros:

  • Only pick formulated for pregnancy and nursing
  • Lowest disclosed caffeine dose at 100mg per serving
  • No proprietary blends per the listing
  • Stevia and erythritol only, no sucralose claimed
  • Strawberry kiwi with no artificial colours claimed

Cons:

  • No serving count published, so per-serving value is unclear
  • Second-highest price position in this set
  • Only two sellers stock it
  • No published warranty or dimensions

2. Alani Nu Pre Workout Powder Cosmic Stardust — Best minimal setup

A short, plainly named ingredient list at 200mg of caffeine, and the fastest-moving tub in this group.

Alani Nu Cosmic Stardust pre-workout tub — a 10.2 oz container listing 30 servings at 200mg caffeine

Best for: a shopper who wants a short, plainly listed ingredient panel Skip it if: 200mg of caffeine per scoop is more than your doctor allows

This is the one buyers choose most often here, and the appeal is simplicity. The listing names four things: 200mg of caffeine from coffee beans, L-theanine, beta-alanine and citrulline. No collagen, no ketones, no botanical extracts. For someone reading a label with a specific question in mind, a four-ingredient headline is easier to check than a twelve-ingredient one.

The numbers are tidy. A 10.2 oz tub at 0.64 lb, 30 servings, in a 4.5 x 3.5 x 3.5 in container that fits a gym bag side pocket. Alani Nu states the formula is gluten free, vegan and sugar free. Directions say take it 20 to 30 minutes before training.

Here's the part you can't skip. At 200mg, this is double the NutraBump figure. It's a well-documented, sensibly built stimulant pre-workout, and nothing on the listing suggests it was designed with pregnancy in mind. The L-theanine pairing tends to smooth the edge off caffeine, which is a plus for jitters but doesn't change the dose. Against the winner, it trades pregnancy-specific formulation for a lower price position and a published serving count.

Pros:

  • Smallest tub footprint at 4.5 x 3.5 x 3.5 in
  • 30 servings with the weight also published
  • Short, named ingredient headline
  • Gluten free, vegan and sugar free per the brand

Cons:

  • 200mg caffeine, double the lowest pick here
  • Not formulated for pregnancy or nursing
  • Beta-alanine means the tingle is likely
  • Smallest net weight of the tubs that publish one

3. RAW Essential Tingle-Free Pre Workout Powder — Best budget pick

The cheapest of the seven, and the only one that deliberately leaves beta-alanine out.

RAW Essential Tingle-Free pink lemonade pre-workout tub — built without beta-alanine, so no skin tingle

Best for: anyone who hates the beta-alanine tingle Skip it if: you want a published net weight and warranty details

That prickling, crawling sensation across your face and forearms after a scoop of pre-workout is paresthesia, and beta-alanine causes it. RAW built this one without it. Among these seven, it's the only pick that names the omission as the point, which matters if the tingle is what made you quit your last tub.

The formula RAW lists is Vitamin B12, sodium, L-citrulline, L-tyrosine, Alpha-GPC and 200mg of natural caffeine, described as made in the USA with no GMOs and no fillers. Pink lemonade flavour, 30 servings, 11.22 oz, released in 2025. It's the cheapest position in this set, which makes the per-serving maths the friendliest here.

Two caveats. It's a 2025 listing, so there's less history behind it than the older tubs, and no net weight in pounds is published, only the ounce figure and a 5 x 5 x 5 in box. And at 200mg it sits in the same caffeine bracket as Cosmic Stardust, well above the winner. Nothing here is described as pregnancy-appropriate. What it trades against NutraBump is transparency about a stage of life for the lowest price in the group.

Pros:

  • Cheapest of the seven
  • Built without beta-alanine, no tingle
  • Named amino profile including Alpha-GPC
  • 30 servings in an 11.22 oz tub

Cons:

  • 200mg caffeine, twice the lowest pick here
  • No net weight in pounds published
  • 2025 listing with little track record
  • No pregnancy or nursing formulation claim

4. EBOOST POW Natural Pre Workout Powder — Best for pros

The only pick that names no artificial sweeteners and no creatine, in a fizzing 20-serving tub.

EBOOST POW tropical punch pre-workout tub — a 20-serving effervescent mix with no artificial sweeteners claimed

Best for: someone avoiding artificial sweeteners and creatine Skip it if: you want 30 servings per tub

EBOOST goes at this differently. POW is effervescent: the directions say empty a scoop into 6 to 8 fluid ounces of water, let it fizz, then mix gently to keep the foam down. That's a five-to-ten-minute pre-workout window rather than the 20 to 30 minutes the Alani Nu tubs specify, which suits people who train on short notice.

The exclusion list is the strongest thing on this listing. EBOOST states gluten free, soy free, non-GMO, vegetarian, and free from artificial flavours, colours or sweeteners, plus no creatine. Among these seven, that's the broadest set of stated omissions. The formula is described as natural amino acids, nutraceuticals and plant-based ingredients supporting circulation and joint mobility. Treat the mobility claim as marketing rather than measured.

Now the gaps. There's no caffeine figure anywhere on the listing, which for this particular search is the single most important omission. At 20 servings it's the smallest supply here, ten fewer than most of the field, at a middle price position. Weight is 0.53 lb in a 5 x 5 x 5 in box, and the listing dates to 2016. Against the winner, it swaps a disclosed dose for a longer list of things left out.

Pros:

  • No artificial sweeteners, colours or flavours claimed
  • No creatine, gluten or soy per the listing
  • Effervescent mix, usable five minutes before training
  • Lightest tub in the set at 0.53 lb

Cons:

  • No caffeine amount published anywhere
  • Only 20 servings, fewest here
  • Mid price position for the smallest supply
  • 2016 listing with an older ingredient approach

5. Alani Nu Pre Workout+ Powder Frozen Lemonade — Best premium

The heaviest stimulant load here at 300mg per serving, and the biggest tub of the Alani Nu pair.

Alani Nu Pre Workout+ frozen lemonade tub — 13.8 oz and 300mg caffeine, the highest stated dose in this set

Best for: an experienced lifter with high stimulant tolerance Skip it if: you are pregnant, nursing, or cutting caffeine

This is the extra-boost version of Cosmic Stardust, and the number that changes is caffeine: 300mg per serving, sourced from coffee beans, described as sustained and steady. Same supporting cast of L-theanine, beta-alanine and citrulline. Bigger tub too, 13.8 oz across 30 servings in a 5.31 x 3.65 x 3.65 in container, released in 2024. Alani Nu states gluten free, vegan and sugar free.

It's in the guide for a specific reason. It's the most expensive pick here and the highest disclosed dose, and it demonstrates exactly why a gluten-free label tells you nothing about suitability during pregnancy. Both Alani Nu tubs carry the same gluten-free statement. One holds 200mg per scoop, this one holds 300mg. Search doesn't distinguish between them. You have to.

If stimulants are your thing and you already train on strong coffee, the case is straightforward: more caffeine per scoop, a larger tub, the same clean flavour approach. Sold by two sellers. Against the winner, it trades a pregnancy-formulated dose for triple the caffeine and the top price position, which is a straight swap of purposes rather than an upgrade.

Pros:

  • Largest tub of the two Alani Nu picks at 13.8 oz
  • 300mg caffeine from coffee beans, fully stated
  • L-theanine included alongside the stimulant
  • 30 servings with published dimensions and release year

Cons:

  • 300mg caffeine, triple the lowest pick here
  • Most expensive of the seven
  • Beta-alanine means tingle is likely
  • Weight spec listed as 0.35 g, clearly incomplete

6. BSN N.O.-XPLODE Pre Workout Powder with Creatine — Runner-up

The heaviest tub here at 1.22 lb, with creatine built in and a listing history back to 2014.

BSN N.O.-XPLODE fruit punch tub — 1.2 lb of pre-workout with creatine included, the heaviest in this set

Best for: a lifter who wants creatine and pre-workout in one tub Skip it if: you want a short, modern ingredient list

N.O.-XPLODE is the long-running name in this set. BSN traces the formula to 2006 and this listing to 2014, and it's the second-fastest mover of the seven. The tub is 1.2 lb, 1.22 lb by weight, across 30 servings, dimensions 5.29 x 3.79 x 3.79 in. That makes it the heaviest scoop-for-scoop supply here and it explains the entry price position: you're getting bulk.

Creatine is the differentiator. It's the only pick in this group with creatine named on the label, which saves a second tub if that's already part of your routine. Fruit punch is the listed flavour, with blue raz, grape, green apple and watermelon named as alternatives. BSN describes explosive energy, intense focus and maximum performance. That's brand language, not a measurement.

For this search, the problems stack up. No caffeine amount is published. No gluten-free statement appears on the listing either, so the qualifier that brought you here isn't confirmed. Creatine during pregnancy is not a decision to make from an Amazon page. Against the winner it trades disclosure for volume, and volume isn't what this question turns on.

Pros:

  • Heaviest supply here at 1.22 lb
  • Creatine included, the only pick with it
  • Entry price position for 30 servings
  • Five flavours named on the listing

Cons:

  • No caffeine figure published
  • No gluten-free statement on the listing
  • Creatine adds a question rather than answering one
  • 2014 listing, oldest formulation approach here

7. Insane Labz Boss A** B!#?h Preworkout — Best large-capacity

Thirty servings with collagen and raspberry ketones added, but not one stimulant amount is quantified.

Insane Labz pink lemonade pre-workout tub — 30 servings with collagen and raspberry ketones listed

Best for: someone drawn to collagen in a pre-workout Skip it if: you want caffeine quantified on the label

The pitch is made by women for women, and the ingredient list is the busiest of the seven. Insane Labz names collagen for glycine, proline and hydroxyproline, raspberry ketones for weight management, L-tyrosine and DMAE for focus, beta-alanine and taurine for performance, then multiple caffeine sources plus Rauwolfia extract for energy. That last line is what stops me. It's the only pick here that says "multiple caffeine sources" and never gives a total.

Specs are thin: 30 servings, 0.56 lb, pink lemonade, no net weight in ounces, no dimensions. It sits at an entry price position, the third-cheapest here, which makes it the most affordable route to 30 servings alongside the RAW tub. It's also the slowest seller of the seven.

Take the feature claims as the brand's, including the weight-management line, which isn't something a pre-workout label can promise. For anyone asking a pregnancy question, the combination of collagen, ketones, DMAE, Rauwolfia and unquantified caffeine is a lot of variables at once. The winner takes the opposite approach: fewer ingredients, all of them named with amounts. That's why it finishes last here.

Pros:

  • 30 servings at an entry price position
  • Collagen included, unique in this set
  • Taurine and L-tyrosine named
  • Third-cheapest of the seven

Cons:

  • No caffeine total published, multiple sources named
  • No net weight in ounces or dimensions listed
  • Slowest seller of the seven
  • Rauwolfia extract adds an unquantified stimulant

Does gluten free mean pregnancy safe?

No. Gluten free is a manufacturing and allergen statement. It says a product was made without wheat, barley or rye ingredients. It says nothing about caffeine dose, stimulant blends, botanical extracts or creatine, which are the things that matter when you're searching for the best gluten free pre workout supplement for pregnant women.

The proof is sitting in this set. Both Alani Nu tubs carry the same gluten-free claim, and one holds 200mg of caffeine per serving while the other holds 300mg. Same statement, different decision entirely.

Here's the trick with this category. Amazon's search matches "gluten free" against listing text and largely ignores the rest of your phrase. So the results you get back are gluten-free pre-workouts, sorted by relevance to the words the algorithm could match. Only one of these seven, the NutraBump tub, is described by its maker as formulated for pregnancy and nursing.

What that means in practice:

  • Treat the gluten-free label as one filter among several, not a green light.
  • Read the caffeine figure before anything else.
  • Take any tub you're considering to your OB/GYN, including the pregnancy-formulated one. Pink Nutrabump says the same thing on its own listing.

How long does one tub actually last?

Serving counts across this set range from 20 to 30, and the published sizes range from 10.2 oz to 1.2 lb. That's a meaningful gap in how often you'll reorder.

The 30-serving tubs are Alani Nu Cosmic Stardust, Alani Nu Pre Workout+, RAW Essential Tingle-Free, BSN N.O.-XPLODE and Insane Labz. EBOOST POW gives you 20, the fewest here. NutraBump publishes 11.51 oz and 0.72 lb but no serving count, so you can't calculate its supply from the listing.

Rough arithmetic on the 30-serving tubs, since a scoop is one serving:

  • Training three times a week: ten weeks per tub.
  • Five times a week: six weeks per tub.
  • Daily: about a month.

EBOOST's 20 servings cuts each of those by a third. That's a real cost consideration at a middle price position.

One more thing most shoppers miss. Net weight and serving count aren't interchangeable. BSN's 1.22 lb tub and Alani Nu's 0.64 lb tub both claim 30 servings, which means BSN's scoop is roughly double the powder. Bigger scoop isn't better, it just means more of something. Without a caffeine figure on the BSN listing, you can't tell what more of.

What the listings do not tell you

Even after all that comparison, gaps remain. Naming them is more useful than filling them with guesses.

Caffeine totals, on three of seven. EBOOST, BSN and Insane Labz publish no milligram figure. For a search about the best gluten free pre workout supplement for pregnant women, that's disqualifying, and it's why those three sit at the bottom of the ranking regardless of their other merits.

Warranty and returns. Not one of the seven publishes warranty terms. That's normal for consumable supplements, but it means you're relying on the retailer's standard policy if a flavour turns out to be undrinkable.

Third-party testing. No listing here names an independent certification body. "Made in the USA" and "no fillers" are the brand's own words.

Serving size in grams. Nobody publishes a scoop weight, so cross-tub comparison of anything except caffeine is impossible.

Availability. Every pick shows only two sellers. Narrow supply, though what that means day to day isn't something I can tell from a listing.

The honest summary: the specification sheets here are thinner than in most product categories, and the one figure worth having is missing from nearly half the field.

The verdict

Sorted by price tier, the picture is unusually clear.

At the entry tier, your money buys bulk and volume. RAW Essential Tingle-Free is the cheapest of the seven and the only pick built without beta-alanine, with 200mg of natural caffeine across 30 servings. BSN N.O.-XPLODE gives you the heaviest tub at 1.22 lb with creatine folded in. Insane Labz gives you 30 servings and the longest ingredient list. All three are legitimate training tubs. None publishes a caffeine figure low enough, or in two cases any figure at all, to bring to a pregnancy conversation.

At the middle tier, EBOOST POW buys exclusions: no artificial sweeteners, colours, flavours or creatine, in a 20-serving effervescent format. Fewer servings, cleaner label, still no caffeine number.

At the top tier, the split is stark. Alani Nu Pre Workout+ is the most expensive and delivers 300mg of caffeine per serving. NutraBump is the second most expensive and delivers 100mg, plus the only pregnancy and nursing formulation in the group and a fully disclosed panel with no proprietary blends.

That's the whole decision. NutraBump wins because it's the only pick whose stated purpose matches the question, at the lowest disclosed dose here. Alani Nu Cosmic Stardust is the runner-up if you're past this stage and want a shorter panel at 200mg. Either way, your OB/GYN sees the label before you open the tub.

FAQ

Is the best gluten free pre workout supplement for pregnant women worth the higher price?

The best gluten free pre workout supplement for pregnant women in this set, NutraBump, sits at the second-highest price position, and what that buys is disclosure. It states 100mg of caffeine per serving, names every ingredient with its amount, and skips sucralose and dyes. If you're comparing against a 300mg tub, that's not a premium for flavour. It's a premium for knowing what you're drinking.

What is the cheapest option here, and what do you give up?

The cheapest option here is RAW Essential Tingle-Free, at the entry price position with 30 servings in an 11.22 oz tub. You give up two things: it holds 200mg of caffeine per serving, double the winner's stated figure, and it carries no pregnancy or nursing formulation claim. What you gain is a formula built without beta-alanine, so no skin tingle after a scoop.

How much caffeine is in each of these pre-workouts?

Caffeine in each of these pre-workouts, where published, runs from 100mg to 300mg per serving. NutraBump states 100mg. Alani Nu Cosmic Stardust and RAW Essential Tingle-Free both state 200mg. Alani Nu Pre Workout+ states 300mg. EBOOST POW, BSN N.O.-XPLODE and Insane Labz publish no figure at all, which is why they rank lowest for this particular search.

NutraBump or Alani Nu Cosmic Stardust: which should I choose?

Between NutraBump and Alani Nu Cosmic Stardust, the deciding factor is the dose. NutraBump states 100mg of caffeine and is the only pick formulated for pregnancy and nursing, though it publishes no serving count. Cosmic Stardust states 200mg across 30 servings in a compact 4.5 x 3.5 x 3.5 in tub, at a lower price position. Pregnant or nursing, take NutraBump to your doctor first.

What mistake do most pre-workout shoppers make in this category?

The mistake most pre-workout shoppers make is treating a gluten-free label as a safety clearance. It's an allergen statement, nothing more. Two tubs in this set share that label and differ by 100mg of caffeine per serving. Read the stimulant figure before the flavour, the ingredient count or the price, and skip any tub that won't tell you what its total is.

Start with the caffeine line on the label, not the front of the tub. If it's absent, the product can't be assessed against any limit your doctor gives you, which rules out three of these seven on the spot. Among what's left, NutraBump is the sensible default: 100mg per serving, every ingredient named with its amount, and the only formulation in this group written for pregnancy and nursing. That combination is rare enough on this shelf that it's worth the price position. Then do the one thing no article can do for you, which is show the label to your OB/GYN before the first scoop.

Last updated: September 27, 2026. Product availability re-checked.

This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.